Data Clinic recover data for Team Scotland ahead of their 2011 Rugby World Cup bid

Data Clinic successfully tackle data recovery for the SRU

With the 2011 IRB Rugby World Cup currently underway in New Zealand, 2011 is a massive year for rugby.

Running from the 9th September until the final in Auckland on 23rd October, 20 national teams are competing to become the rugby World Champions and lift the World Cup. The competition is held every 4 years and it’s the hosts New Zealand who are favourites to win this time…

However, as anyone who knows a bit about Rugby Union will tell you, New Zealand are always favourites – but they’ve only ever won the competition once – back in 1987. Rugby is a religion in New Zealand, and is played massively throughout the country. These days, training regimes are developed scientifically but there’s a great story from way back when involving the former All Black Colin Meads, who as a sheep farmer by trade, would develop his strength and stamina by running uphill with a sheep tucked under each arm.

We received a call from the Scottish Rugby Union in Murrayfield who contacted us shortly before their squad flew out to New Zealand, as one of their RAID servers holding their team data had crashed and the information was no longer accessible. We arranged to have the system collected the same day and it arrived safely in our Manchester offices the following morning. Our analysis revealed damage to the system areas of the drives and with some careful attention to detail and some deft reprogramming we were able to piece the data structures across the disks back together and successfully recover the data. This was returned to them on a new external hard disk shortly before their flight.

This World Cup, Scotland are drawn in Group B, along with Argentina, Georgia, Romania, and their bitter rivals England. England should qualify top of the group, and second place will be a tustle between Scotland and Argentina. That’s my prediction, but this is the World Cup and experience shows that anything can happen…

With total match attendences expected to be around 2.5 million, and worldwide viewing figures expected to be over 5 billion, the 2011 Rugby World Cup promises to be a grand spectacle and a showcase for what truly is a beautiful country.

2011 Rugby World Cup – Groups
Group A: New Zealand, France, Tonga, Canada, Japan
Group B: Argentina, England, Scotland, Georgia, Romania
Group C: Australia, Ireland, Italy, Russia, USA
Group D: South Africa, Wales, Fiji, Samoa, Namibia

Past Winners of the Rugby World Cup
1987 – New Zealand
1991 – Australia
1995 – South Africa
1999 – Australia
2003 – England
2007 – South Africa

Data Clinic have a data recovery centre in Glasgow –
Data Clinic Glasgow, 20-23 Woodside Place, Glasgow, G3 7QF, Scotland